Today’s WTF: Beastie Boys’ Adam Yauch dies at 47

Jeez. What awful news.

Adam “MCA” Yauch of the Beastie Boys has passed away at only 47 years of age, after battling cancer for the past few years.

Not much for me to say about this, other than I’m kind of stunned by it. I knew he was too unwell to attend the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame ceremony last month, when the Beastie Boys were inducted,  but I guess I thought he was responding to treatment and not in danger of death.  But cancer does whatever the fuck it wants, I guess.

He leaves a wife and a daughter behind. And he was nearly the same age as I am. I will keep them in my thoughts tonight, and I will be sure to give my husband an extra big hug when he gets home. You just never know.

3 thoughts on “Today’s WTF: Beastie Boys’ Adam Yauch dies at 47

  1. Great post. It through me for a loop because the Beasties were one of the first, if you remember when they made TAPES, I ever bought. They hold a special place in my hip-hop heart.

    • Oh, yeah, I remember tapes. In a box somewhere, I think I still have a bunch, and the Beasties are in there too. They really evolved over their career, and when you consider the creative leap they took between the first album and the second…it was just sort of, holy cow, these guys aren’t a joke. They’re for real. I still listen to Paul’s Boutique regularly – and I still think it sounds amazing.

Leave a Reply

