Today’s FTW: Elbow, Shins and (more) Uteri

Yes, folks, it’s the body parts edition of FTW! I may end up making this a regular thing on Fridays, since I usually have a lot of other crap to do and am too lazy to think hard by the end of the week. So here’s what I thought was interesting and awesome this week:

1. Knitting a uterus for your elected official

The best reason I’ve ever seen to learn how to knit. Send a cute and cuddly knitted uterus to your Governor, Senator or State Representative, and ask them if they can please leave your uterus alone now that they have one of their very own. Genius, no?

Visit Government Free VJJ here, and get out your yarn, y’all.

2. Record Store Day is a-comin’!

To promote and celebrate independent  “brick & mortar”record stores (remember those, folks?) April 21st has been designated as Record Store Day – an international event featuring special and limited releases from many bands and artists.  Some of my favorite groups are participating this year, including Manchester band Elbow. They will be releasing a limited edition 7″ of their song “McGreggor”, to support Record Store Day UK. Here’s the video for “McGreggor”, which is a cracker of a tune:

And because there’s no such thing as too much Elbow, here’s one of my favorite songs of theirs. If there’s ever been a better lyric than “We still believe in love, so fuck you”, I’ve yet to hear it.Wish I’d been there when they were filming this one:

3. The Shins – Port of Morrow

While we’re on the music tip, I’ll drop a “DoubleyooTeeEff Seal of Approval” on the new release from The Shins. Port of Morrow was out this past Tuesday, and after a few listens, I am a satisfied customer. It didn’t change my life though, so bite me, Natalie Portman.

4. The Muppets! On DVD!

SO GO BUY IT! NOW!!!!

Enjoy your weekend, y’all…

Leave a Reply

