WTF Poll: Who offends you more, Rick Santorum or Mitt Romney?

Since it’s now clear that the GOP primary field has been narrowed down to two (with apologies to Newt and Ron Paul, both of whom must’ve missed that fat lady singin’ a while back, gawdblessem), I’ve been thinking about the last men standing. I think the fact that the remaining candidates are so diametrically opposed to one another, in terms of style and substance, tells a little something about the current fractured state of the Republican party.

On one hand, there’s Rick Santorum, who, recent momentary lapse of composure notwithstanding, has been the most consistent politician we’ve seen in a long time. He has refused to back away from many controversial comments he’s made, despite the backlash he’s encountered from media figures and voters. While this consistency is a quality I usually admire, in Santorum it actually bothers me. He seems incapable of opening his mind to information or ideas that don’t reflect his own worldview. Clinging to certain beliefs so stubbornly (abortion’s always wrong, rape babies are a gift!), even when faced with reasonable challenges, makes him seem far too radical.

Image From Aramis at the Barkers & Rubes blog

Then you have Mitt Romney, the candidate who has shape-shifting capabilities to rival the T-1000 from Terminator 2. No matter what you may hear him say today, he’ll be humming a different tune tomorrow. The fact that his own campaign advisor thought of an Etch-A-Sketch to define his strategy sure puts a fine point on it. Again, there’s the roots of something admirable in his demeanor. I can respect those who are able and willing to take in new information and use it to come to a new understanding about a subject. But mental flexibility is different from constant flip-flopping. Romney shifts with the wind, just like the tops of those Michigan trees he loves so much. Depending on where he is and who he’s speaking to that day, he will pretend to be anything that fits the bill. And his propensity for lying – I mean flat-out, no holds barred lying – is the inevitable upshot of this desire to appear to be all things to all people.

With these two candidates, so goes the hope of the Republicans for a November victory. They represent two opposite extremes on either end of the conservative spectrum. And, as I said, it tells you something about the state of the GOP that these two extremists – the holy warrior and the hypocrite – have the support of almost the entire Republican party all sewn up between them.

If I were a Republican voter, and these two guys were my only choices going forward, I have no idea how I’d decide which one offended me more. They’re both pretty heinous, in my view, but I suppose I would have to give the edge to Santorum on character. I disagree with his positions on almost everything, but I do give him a certain amount of credit for sticking to his guns. And I also have to give him a few bonus points now that he’s started cursing on the campaign trail.

Just for fun, I figured I’d throw in a poll. I’ve never used this feature and I wanted to see how it works. It’s an experiment, and you are all my guinea pigs! MUAHAHAHAHA! So, imagine yourself as a Republican voter. Suppress the urge to vomit, and think about the dilemma before you: two candidates, each one appalling in his own way. Who do you think is the most offensive – Rick Santorum, the inflexible idealogue, or Mitt Romney, the lying weasel? Let me know below!

RELATED ITEMS:

Barkers & Rubes – a great blog with lots of excellent Photoshop images, like the Romney “Say Anything” pic

4 thoughts on “WTF Poll: Who offends you more, Rick Santorum or Mitt Romney?

  1. I think I’d have to go with Romney. Santorum will no doubt do everything possible to facilitate leading America further toward theocracy. Romney might do anything — including baptizing America’s founders in a Mormon Cathedral ceremony — but I don’t think he is capable of leading America toward anything.

    In this case, I’d prefer facing an unknown series of mistakes than an obvious disaster.

  2. With me, definitely Santorum. I cannot STAND that he’s pushing he religious beliefs upon us. He cannot separate church and state – and that is a very dangerous mixture. Romney may filp-flop, and in being a Mormon, I’m rather surprised he has not preached. But he seems more capable of separating church and state

Leave a Reply

