Today’s OMFG: A couple of kids that make me feel useless

It would appear that I’ve just passed the 100 post mark here on WordPress. So, in honor of the occasion, I decided to do something fun up in here, what with the fact that I’ve been kind of serious lately. Actually, I just saw that my blog buddy Colin has done the exact same thing, as he just hit 100 posts as well. I swear I’m not copying him. Great minds think alike, or something. 🙂

Anyway, what I decided to post are some videos from a couple of extraordinarily talented kids who make me feel utterly useless. I mean, I see the supernatural skills they have, and I suddenly feel like a drooling dumbass in comparison. But I love watching what they do, despite this fact, and you might enjoy them too. You may also have seen them before, as these are not really new videos and I am pretty sure they’ve made the rounds at some point.

First up is a young man who is a college student in Colorado. His name is Christian Allen, and he is a drummer. My kid started playing the drums a couple of years ago, and wanted to see some amateur drummers doing their own covers of hit songs, so she and I went searching on YouTube. Christian has his own channel with a bunch of his drum covers posted, and when we found this dude, we were both just sitting there watching his videos for an hour, with our jaws hanging open. He is incredible.

My kid and I both loved the drum cover he did of the OK Go tune, “This Too Shall Pass”. He did such a remarkable job playing it that he was recognized by the band when they came to play in Colorado. Here are a couple of videos to demonstrate his awesomeosity (no, it’s not a real word. So? What are you, the Vocabulary Police?). First is his OK Go cover, then the video of him playing along with the band during their gig.

 

 

 

And next up is a girl from Japan who will blow your damn mind. She performs on this amazing keyboard, which allows her to basically play all the parts that would usually be played by an entire band. Extra OMFG bonus points due to the fact that she is 11 years old(!) in the first video, and only 10 years old (!?!) in the second.  She also has a YouTube channel with several posted items. I’ve chosen my two favorites. First is her version of the Rush song “YYZ”, which is ridiculously complex and demanding to play, even when it’s performed by 3 skilled and experienced musicians. The second is “Carry On Wayward Son”, by Kansas. Yeah, I said Kansas. Don’t think about it, just go with it. It’ll be worth the trip, I promise.

 

 

 

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m gonna go sit in the corner and suck my thumb while rocking back and forth and contemplating my talentless existence. 🙂

One thought on “Today’s OMFG: A couple of kids that make me feel useless

Leave a Reply

