Today’s OMFG: Socially aware artwork by Melanie Baker

I have just run across a very interesting blog, and I wanted to post something here so that anyone who reads my blog can stop by and see it for themselves. Melanie Baker is an artist and blogger based in Brooklyn, NY.  Her work has been featured in multiple exhibitions in museums and galleries. As you’ll see when you check out her blog, much of her work focuses on political and social topics, and it is pretty powerful stuff. The messages come through loud and clear. I will post a few examples here, but I would really love it if anyone who sees this would visit her blog to look at the rest of what is posted there. It’s all food for thought. As someone who is artistically inept, I always respect those who have this sort of talent. I can handle words, but I don’t think even my best posts can convey ideas and emotions with the same immediacy as many of Melanie Baker’s works.

Taking Out The Trash (image used by kind permission of Melanie Baker)

Romneycare For The 47% (image used by kind permission of Melanie Baker)

The Koch Brothers – Our First Family of Job Creators (image used by kind permission of Melanie Baker)

Climate Change – The Elephant in the Room (image used by kind permission of Melanie Baker)

5 thoughts on “Today’s OMFG: Socially aware artwork by Melanie Baker

Leave a Reply

